Tuesday, 18 September 2012

Statement by ODM Party Leader on Concluded By-Elections

I take this opportunity to congratulate Hon. Augustino Neto Oyugi, the MP-elect for Ndhiwa Constituency. Your win is a testimony of the people’s faith in the reforms that our country has firmly embarked on. 

I also congratulate councilors-elect Reuben Nyangweso (Bukura Ward, Kakamega), Noor Sheikh Abdullah (Nana, Moyale), Jevis Ochieng Abuor (Wire Hill/Migwa Ward, Kasipul Kabondo), Benard Oduor Onyango (Wang’ Chieng’ Ward, Homa Bay), Eliakim Ochieng Obinju (east Kadem Ward, Migori), Margaret Akinyi Owejee (Gembe East Ward, Homa Bay), and councillor-elect for Kaliang'ombe in Kilifi, Daniel Chibule.

To our candidates who lost, I salute you for standing with the reform agenda. This is Kenya’s Moment and for sure you are on the side of history.

To our opponents who won various parliamentary and civic seats, we also congratulate you in the spirit of democracy. As I have always said, democracy does not have to be a blood sport. 

Finally, Kenya was the overall winner after these largely peaceful electoral contests.

Rt. Hon. Raila Amolo Odinga
ODM Party Leader 

Note: The Orange Democratic Movement will today hold a press conference on the same subject at Orange House, Kilimani, Nairobi, details which will be published here there after.

No comments:

Post a Comment